Current Position: Home > HARDWOOD > SPECIES

SPECIES

There are literally hundreds of wood species to choose from when deciding on the perfect hardwood flooring for your home such as Red Oak, White Oak, Birch, Canadian maple, Hickory or Walnut. Each species yields different colours, textures and styles that will add unique touch to your living space. Many factors from the nature of the wood to the way it was cut, can affect its appearance. Wood species are also categorized as either domestic or exotic. Domestic wood species refer to any wood that is grown and harvested in North America. Exotic wood species are harvested outside of North America. The majority of Beaulieu’s wood species are domestic:


Red Oak:Oak wood generally means rich colour with a charming style. Heartwood and sapwood are similar, with sapwood being lighter; most pieces have a reddish brown tone. Red Oak grain is open and slightly coarse. There are considerable variations in colour and grain texture. Ordinary wear is not as noticeable due to oak’s grain and natural reddish colour.



White Oak:Perfect for creating a traditional wood floor, White Oak is slightly softer than red oak and less dimensionally stable. While there are many variations in colour and grain texture, White Oak heartwood is light brown with a sometimes grey or pink cast. White Oak sapwood is white to cream.



Birch : For a unique décor that inspires style, Birch wood has a straight grain for even texture. Although its boards sometimes appear curly or wavy, Birch shows minimal colour variation even when exposed to intense light. Birch sapwood is creamy yellow or pale white and its heartwood is light reddish-brown with red highlights.



Canadian Maple :Maple wood is the definition of enduring classic. With a closed grain that gives it a soft, even texture, Maple wood can appear straight, curly or striped. The sapwood is pale to creamy white and the heartwood creamy white to light reddish brown.



Hickory:Hickory heartwood is tan or reddish; sapwood is white to cream, with fine brown lines. The grain is closed, with moderate definition; somewhat rough-textured.



          

Walnut:Heartwood ranges from a deep, rich dark brown to a purplish black. Sapwood is nearly white to tan. Difference between heartwood and sapwood colour is great; some flooring manufacturers steam lumber to bleed the darker heartwood colour into the sapwood. Walnut grain is mostly straight and open, but some boards have burled or curly grain. Arrangements of pores is similar to hickories and persimmon, but pores are smaller in size. There is a great variety of colour and figure within species, as well as variation in colour among boards, especially in lower grades and from material that is not steamed prior to kiln-drying.



Janka Hardness

Keep in mind that one of the most important strength properties for wood used in flooring is its side hardness, which is determined with the Janka hardness test. Side hardness refers to a wood’s resistance to wear, dents and marks. The Janka hardness rating for each species is based on an average of tests to the wood samples. Because the test is conducted on the material in its “raw” state, meaning without the finish, it is not something that the average user of hardwood flooring needs to consider. Rest assured that your retailer will provide you with a hardwood flooring that will meet both your design requirements and your practical needs.

护理、小贴士&维护

A flooring purchase is a long-term decorating investment. Proper care and cleaning can make a big difference in retaining the appearance and performance of your floor over time.

READ MORE
宝俪优走向绿色

Sustainability, renewable energy, solar energy, and hydroelectricity are some of the many ways Beaulieu encourages the green shift. 

READ MORE

Customer satisfaction, quality product and sustainability are fundamental aspects of the Beaulieu company

READ MORE

Connect with Beaulieu Asia

READ MORE

当前位置: 首页 > 实木地板 > 木材品种

木材品种

在为您的居所选择适当的实木地板时,有数以百计的木材品种可供您选择,如红橡木、白橡木、桦木、加拿大枫木、山核桃木或者胡桃木。每一种木材都能生产出不同颜色、质地和样式的地板,为您的生活空间添加独特的触感。从木材性质到砍伐方式,有多种因素将影响地板外观。木材种类亦可归类为国内或者国外。国内木材种类是指生长和砍伐于北美境内的木材。国外木材种类是指砍伐于北美以外地区的木材。宝俪优所使用的大多数木材均产于国内。


红橡木:橡木色彩丰富,样式美观。心材和边材相似,但边材更为轻盈;多为红棕色。红橡木纹理开阔,稍微有些粗糙。颜色和纹理结构差异较大。由于橡木的纹理及自然微红的颜色,正常磨损并不明显。



白橡木:适于制成传统木地板,与红橡木相比,白橡木稍软且尺寸稳定性较低。但颜色和纹理结构差异较大,白橡木心材为浅棕色,有时带浅灰或者浅粉色。白橡木边材为乳白色。



桦木:桦木风格独特,是质地均匀的直纹。尽管其木板有时会出现卷曲或呈波浪状,但即使经受阳光暴晒,桦木的颜色变化也是非常轻微的。桦木边材为奶油黄色或者淡白色,心材是带有红色亮点的淡红棕色。



加拿大枫木:枫木是经久不衰的代名词。枫木纹理细致、质地柔软均匀,可以是直的、弯曲的或者条纹的。边材为淡白色至乳白色,心材为乳白至淡红棕色。



山核桃木:山核桃木心材为黄褐色或者淡红色;边材为乳白色带细棕线。纹理封闭清晰;带有几分粗糙的质感。



          

胡桃木:心材颜色由深黑至紫黑色。边材接近白色至褐色。心材与边材颜色差别较大;有些地板厂家会使用蒸气法使心材中的深色渗入边材。胡桃木纹理大多较直且开阔,但有些木板长有瘤或纹理较为弯曲。气孔排列与山核桃木和柿木相似,但气孔尺寸较小。不同种类之间颜色和图案差别较大,不同木板之间颜色差别也很大,尤其是低等材料以及烘干前未经蒸汽处理的材料。



金氏硬度

谨记,地板木材选用时最重要的一项强度性能是其侧面硬度,这由金氏硬度测试决定。侧面硬度是指木材的耐磨性、抗压性和抗痕性。每种木材的金氏硬度水平是基于被测木材样本的平均水平。由于本测试是在材料“未加工”状态下进行的,这意味着本测试并不完善,并不是所有实木地板用户都需要考虑这一因素。请放心,您的零售商为您提供的实木地板将同时满足您的设计要求和实际需求。

护理、小贴士&维护

购买地板是一项长期的装修投资。随着时间的推移,适当的护理和清洁对地板的外观和性能具有较大影响。

更多
宝俪优走向绿色

可持续性、可再生能源、太阳能和水力发电是宝俪优众多鼓励绿色生活生产方法的一部分。

更多

宝俪优公司的愿景:客户满意、品质保证和可持续发展。 我公司不断完善生产工艺,以满足这些标准,为大家谋福利

更多

关注宝俪优亚洲新浪官方微博,参与,分享,讨论。

更多