Current Position: Home > HARDWOOD > FAQ

FAQ


Can I put a rug on my hardwood floor?

Yes, but you should rearrange rugs or furniture periodically so your hardwood ages evenly.

What are edge treatments?

Bevels were introduced to pre-finished flooring to help hide sub-flooring and milling irregularities.

Square edge

This gives the appearance of a traditional sanded on-site finish.

2-sided bevel
The lengths are bevelled to provide a V-groove where two pieces meet. The ends remain square edges.
4-sided bevel
The lengths and ends are bevelled to provide a V-groove at all joints.
Eased edge
This is the chamfered or bevelled edge of strip flooring, plank and parquet at shallow angle. Eased edge is considered to be less of an indentation than bevelled edge flooring.

Can damaged hardwood flooring be repaired?


Solid hardwood
Yes. Minor touch ups could be done with the proper touch up kit. However, if a larger repair must be done, it is recommended to sand the whole floor then refinish it.

Engineered hardwood
The veneers can be either rotary peeled, sliced or sawn cut. They can vary in thickness from 0.6mil to 5 or more mm. The surface veneers of less than 1.5mm can be refinished by re-coating, and veneers 1.5mm and more may be sanded and refinished, even several times if done by a professional.


Can I install hardwood flooring products on any level of the home?


Solid hardwood

Hardwood flooring performs best when the interior environment is controlled to stay within a relative humidity range of 45-55% and a temperature range of 60 to 80 degrees Fahrenheit. Therefore, hardwood flooring cannot be installed below grade.


Engineered hardwood
A room that is exposed to excessive moisture would be prone to trouble if solid wood flooring was installed in it. Basement floors are particularly tricky installations. But some products, such as engineered hardwood flooring, may be suitable in many of these circumstances because of their dimensional stability.


What is hardwood flooring?


Solid Hardwood Flooring
The word ‘solid’ says it all; the wood has not been altered in any way within the plank. Due to the organic nature of this material, solid hardwood is susceptible to environmental changes. It will expand and contract in reaction to different temperature variations and humidity levels. Effects like warping and gapping can also occur. For this reason, solid hardwood should not be installed below grade level or in areas of the home where there is excess moisture like bathrooms or laundry rooms. All solid hardwood can be sanded and refinished over the years if needed.

Jointed Hardwood Flooring
This is a type of solid hardwood flooring that is created using random pieces of wood scraps. The resulting product is both unique visually and environmentally sound since it uses less lumber and conserves precious natural resources. Jointed hardwood has the same properties and characteristics as solid hardwood.

Engineered Hardwood Flooring
These floors combine the classic appearance of solid hardwood with the added benefit of technology which stabilizes your floors. Engineered hardwood floors consist of three to ten layers called plies that are glued together. The multi-ply structure adds stability and resistance to moisture and temperature changes. It can be installed on, above or below grade level due to its multi-layered construction, making it a great choice for finished basements.


How do I maintain my hardwood floors?


Initial care
Following installation, clean with a no-rinse product made specifically for pre-finished hardwood. Remember to protect your floor if other work is not complete.

Regular maintenance
Sweep, vacuum or dust mop regularly, as built-up grit can damage the finish and surface of your floor. The vacuum head must be a brush or felt type. Do not use a vacuum with a beater bar head and be certain that the wheels of the vacuum do not damage the finish. Periodically clean the floor with cleaning products made specifically for pre-finished hardwood floors. Frequency will depend on the amount of traffic the floor receives. Follow the cleaner instructions closely. Remove spills or liquids immediately using a soft cloth and the cleaning product recommended. Do not allow spills or liquids to remain on the floor for an extended period of time as it may cause damage to your flooring.

Preventive maintenance
Never use other types of floor covering cleaning products (sheet vinyl, ceramic tile cleaners etc…). Never mop or flood your floor with water or other products. Do not use oil soaps, liquid or paste wax products or other household cleaners that contain lemon oil, Tung oil, bleach, polishes or ammonia. Do not use products that may leave a residue allowing the floor to be slippery or sticky and causing your floor to appear dull quickly. This could also damage the flooring, leave a discolouring residue and cause swelling, warping and void the warranty.
Never use scouring powder products, steel wool or abrasives. Put fabric-faced glides (non-staining), casters or felt pad protectors under the legs of furniture to prevent scuffing and scratching. Keep pet’s nails trimmed and paws clean and free of dirt. Use a dolly or protective sheets of plywood when moving heavy objects. Remove shoes with spiked or damaged heels before walking on the floor. When moving heavy furniture, do not slide it on your flooring. It is best to pick up furniture completely to protect the flooring. Do not use rugs with solid rubber or vinyl backings. Maintain normal interior humidity levels. The range should be between 40% and 60%. Use a humidifier and/or dehumidifier if necessary. Exposure to the sun and UV rays accelerates the oxidation and aging of hardwood and fabrics. This causes the stain and/or hardwood to fade and/or change colour. Rearrange rugs or furniture periodically so your hardwood ages evenly. For hardwood flooring in the kitchen, place an area rug in front of the kitchen sink.



How should I remove my existing hardwood floor?

It could be taken apart, but it is impossible to do so without damaging the wood. And once removed, it cannot be reinstalled.

How do I acclimate my hardwood floor?

Acclimation is a recommended procedure prior to installation of hardwood flooring either on the “job site” or in “like job site conditions”, as this will make the installation easier and remove concerns of over expansion or under contraction of the flooring. Store the UNOPENED BOXES in the room where the floor is to be installed for at least 48 hours prior to installation. Heating/air conditioning must be on and set between 60º - 80ºF and relative humidity in the room should be 40% to 60%.


What are the benefits of hardwood flooring?


No other flooring offers the warmth, beauty and long-term value wood flooring does. Warm both visually and to the touch, wood flooring is a natural insulator that is available in almost limitless styles, textures, figuring and colours. Whatever your decorating tastes are, wood flooring will enhance the beauty of your home while increasing its value. Even as the years pass, your wood floor will retain its worthwhile remaining easy to maintain and beautiful to look at. A quality wood floor will last a lifetime, or even generations!

Wood is a natural, renewable and recyclable resource. Wood flooring is naturally hypo-allergenic; mould, mildew, pollen have no place to thrive with wood floors and are easily maintained with vacuuming or dust mopping. The occasional cleaning with a recommended cleaner is the extent of the regular maintenance required. Even when the finish begins to tire, most hardwood products can be rejuvenated or refinished; some wood floors have been in use for hundreds of years!

In today’s market, there is a right type of wood flooring for practically all applications; houses, condominiums, cottages, shops and offices. Wood floors have become one of the most versatile and affordable flooring choices available. Over the course of its life-cycle, wood flooring is more cost effective than many other types of floors while minimizing environmental impact. Beautiful, natural, warm and comfortable, wood flooring is an excellent choice for home or work.


How do I choose the right mouldings?

Reducer
A reducer moulding provides a smooth transition between hardwood flooring and other floor coverings with different heights.

T-Moulding
The T-moulding is used in doorways or entryways or for transition between same levels of flooring.

Square nose
A square nose moulding is used to finish the flooring edge at a staircase or for sharper transition between different levels of flooring compared to a reducer.

Stair nose

The stair nose moulding is used to finish each stair and the flooring edge at a staircase.



What is the Janka hardness test?

Keep in mind that one of the most important strength properties for wood used in flooring is its side hardness, which is determined with the Janka hardness test. Side hardness refers to a wood’s resistance to wear, dents and marks. The Janka hardness rating for each species is based on an average of tests to the wood samples. Because the test is conducted on the material in its “raw” state, meaning without the finish, it is not something that the average user of hardwood flooring needs to consider. Rest assured that your retailer will provide you with a hardwood flooring that will meet both your design requirements and your practical needs.


How can hardwood floors be installed?


Solid hardwood
Hardwood floors could only be nailed or stapled.

Engineered hardwood
Engineered floors could be nailed, stapled, glued or floated.

Should I expect colour variation?

Yes. Wood is a natural product and colour variations are to be expected. For best visual effect, shuffle planks from several cartons and do not install boards varying greatly in colour next to one another.

How many layers does engineered flooring have?

Engineered flooring could have between 3 and 11 layers. Beaulieu engineered floors have either 3 or 9 layers.


Does a solid wood floor look better than an engineered hardwood floor?

No. The appearance is exactly the same. It is the construction that is different. Solid wood is the same piece of wood from top to bottom and engineered has several layers to offer better stability.

Can engineered floors be laid over a concrete floor?

Yes. Because of its construction, engineered hardwood floors offer better resistance to moisture than solid hardwood.

Can engineered floors be laid over radiant heating systems?

Yes.

Do I need to leave an expansion gap with engineered floors?

Yes. The floors will move less than solid hardwood however, it still needs room to expand.

 

护理、小贴士&维护

A flooring purchase is a long-term decorating investment. Proper care and cleaning can make a big difference in retaining the appearance and performance of your floor over time.

READ MORE
宝俪优走向绿色

Sustainability, renewable energy, solar energy, and hydroelectricity are some of the many ways Beaulieu encourages the green shift. 

READ MORE

Customer satisfaction, quality product and sustainability are fundamental aspects of the Beaulieu company

READ MORE

Connect with Beaulieu Asia

READ MORE

当前位置: 首页 > 实木地板 > 常见问题

常见问题


我可以在实木地板上铺小地毯吗?

可以,但您需要定期重新布置小地毯或者家具,防止色差产生。

什么是边缘处理?

在预涂饰地板中加入斜角,以便于隐藏下层地板和不规则边角。

直角边

这看起来像传统的就地打磨罩面漆。

双向斜角
两边倾斜,二者对齐处形成一个V型槽。两端为方形。
四向斜角
两边和两端均为斜角,连接处均为V型槽。
光圆边
这是条木地板、厚木板和镶木地板的倒角或斜边。与斜角边地板相比,光圆边压痕较少。

受损实木地板可以修复吗?


实木地板
可以。可以使用适当的修理工具进行小幅修整。但如果必须进行大修,建议对整幅地板进行打磨,然后再进行抛光。

实木复合地板
这种木板可以旋转剥去、切下或者锯掉。厚度为0.6毫米至5毫米不等,甚至更厚。对厚度小于1.5毫米的薄板重新涂层,对1.5毫米或更厚的木板进行打磨和抛光,如果由专业人员进行操作,甚至可以重复多次。


我可以在家中的任何区域铺设实木地板吗?


实木地板

在45-55%的相对湿度和60-80华氏摄氏度的室内环境中,最适合铺设实木地板。因此,不能在地面以下区域铺设实木地板。


实木复合地板
过渡潮湿的房间不适合铺设实木地板。地下室尤其不适合铺设这类地板。但有些尺寸稳定性较好的产品(如实木复合地板)可适用于大多数环境。


什么是实木地板?


实木地板
“实”字说明了一切;木板内部未做任何改变。由于这种材料的自然有机性质,实木对自然环境变化较为敏感。它会随温度和湿度的变化而膨胀或收缩。也可能会变形或者产生间隙。因此,不应将实木地板铺设在位置较低的地方或者较为潮湿的区域,如浴室或者洗衣房。如有需要,即使在多年之后,所有实木地板仍可进行打磨和抛光。

拼接木地板
这是实木地板的一类,利用碎木块随机拼接而成。这种地板具有独特的视觉效果,且对环境无害,因为它所使用的木料较少,节约了珍贵的自然资源。拼接木地板拥有与实木地板相同的性能和特征。

实木复合地板
这种地板将实木地板的外观与先进的技术结合在一起,令您的地板更加稳固。实木复合地板由三至十层板层组成,利用胶水粘合在一起。这种多层结构增加了地板的稳定性,以及地板对温度和湿度变化的耐受性。由于其多层结构,可以将其铺设在高层或者低层位置,因而成为地下室的绝佳选择。


如何打理实木地板?


初期维护
铺设后,使用专为预涂饰地板而设计的非漂洗产品进行清洁。如果其他工作尚未完工,一定记得要对您的地板采取保护措施。

定期保养
定期打扫、吸尘或者使用拖把进行清洁,因为砂纸会损坏涂层和地板表层。吸尘器头必须为刷子或者毛毡型。不要使用搅拌棒头吸尘器,并确保吸尘器轮子不会破坏涂层。定期使用专为预涂饰木地板而设计的清洁产品进行清洁。清洁频率取决于地板的使用频率。请严格按照清洁剂使用说明操作。使用软布或者推荐的清洁产品立即清除溅撒物或液体。不要将溅撒物或者液体长时间留在地板上,因为这可能会损坏您的地板。

定期检修
切勿使用其他类型的地板覆盖物清洁产品,如塑胶地板、瓷砖清洁剂等。切勿用水或其他产品拖洗地板。请不要使用油皂、液体、膏状蜡制品或者其他含有柠檬油、桐油、漂白剂、抛光剂或氨水成分的家用清洁剂。请不要使用可能会留下残留物的产品,这可能会导致地板发滑或者发粘,并导致您的地板暗淡无光。这也可能会损坏地板,留下褪色残留物,导致地板膨胀、变形和保修失效
切勿使用去污粉、钢丝绒或者研磨剂。在家具腿下垫上布面脚垫(不着色)、脚轮或者毛毡垫,以避免磨损和刮擦。确保宠物指甲平整,爪子清洁无污物。移动重物时,使用手推车或者胶合板保护片。走上地板前,脱掉带有尖物或者尖跟的鞋子。在移动较重的家具时,不要在地板上拖动。最好是完全抬起家具,以保护您的地板。不要选用带有硬橡皮或者塑胶衬垫的装饰地毯。保持正常的室内湿度水平。湿度范围应在40%至60%之间。如有必要,可使用加湿器和/或除湿机。阳光暴晒和紫外线照射会加速木材和织物的氧化和老化。这可能会导致地板被染色、褪色或者变色。定期重新布置地毯和家具,以便您的地板使用年限较为均匀。如果在厨房铺设实木地板,需要在厨房水槽前放置一小块地毯。



如何拆除现有实木地板?

可以拆除,但这样无法做到不破坏木材。一旦拆除,则不能再次铺设。

如何适应实木地板?

建议在“工作场所”或者“类似工作场所”的地方铺设实木地板前进行适应训练,因为这能够令地板铺设更加简单,并考虑地板的膨胀和收缩问题。铺设前48小时,在需要铺设地板的房间放置一个未开封的盒子。暖气/空调温度设置在60-80华氏摄氏度,房间湿度保持在40%至60%。


实木地板的好处是什么?


没有任何其他地板能够像木地板一样,如此温暖、美观且实用。木地板可同时在视觉上和触觉上给人以温暖的感觉,是天然的绝缘体,且去、款式、质地、图案和色彩多种多样。无论您喜欢哪一种装修风格,木地板都能够为您的居所增加美感,同时提高其价值。即使岁月流逝,您的木地板仍旧可保持其价值和美感,且易于打理。一个高质量的木地板可供您一生、甚至几代人使用!

木材是天然、可再生和可回收资源。木地板天然防过敏、霉菌和霉变,花粉在木地板上也无处生长,可使用吸尘器或者长柄拖把进行清洁,易于打理。建议在定期保养期限内进行清洁。即使涂层开始退化,大多数木制品仍可重新修整或抛光;有些木地板甚至已经使用了几百年!

在如今的市场中,几乎所有的建筑(住宅、公寓、别墅、商店和办公室)都能找到合适的木地板。木地板已经成为最通用和最实用的地板之一。就其使用期限而言,木地板比其他类型的地板的性价比更高,同时对环境的影响最小。美观、自然、温馨、舒适,木地板是住宅或办公地板的首选。


如何选择恰当地板配件?

转接板
转接板令实木地板与不同高度的其他地板覆盖物之间的过渡更为平稳。

T形门压条
T形门压条用于同层地板间门或者玄关处的过渡。

方形条
与转接板相似,方形条适用于楼梯处的地板边缘或者不同水平高度间的过渡。

楼梯条

楼梯条用于完善每阶楼梯和楼梯处的地板边缘。



什么是金氏硬度测试?

谨记,地板木材选用时最重要的一项强度性能是其侧面硬度,这由金氏硬度测试决定。侧面硬度是指木材的耐磨性、抗压性和抗痕性。每种木材的金氏硬度水平是基于被测木材样本的平均水平。由于本测试是在材料“未加工”状态下进行的,这意味着本测试并不完善,并不是所有实木地板用户都需要考虑这一因素。请放心,您的零售商为您提供的实木地板将同时满足您的设计要求和实际需求。


实木地板应如何铺设?


实木地板
实木地板铺设只能使用钉子或订书钉。

实木复合地板
实木复合地板铺设可选用钉子、订书钉、胶水或者采用非固定铺设方法。

颜色会变化吗?

会。木材是天然材料,因此会有颜色上的变化。为保持最佳的视觉效果,可将木板按色彩分为几类,不要将颜色差别较大的木板铺设在临近位置。

实木复合地板可分为几层?

复合地板由3至11层组成。宝俪优复合地板由3层或9层组成。


实木地板比实木复合地板更加美观吗?

不是的。二者在外观上完全一样。只是结构不同而已。实木地板是从头至尾是同一块木板,而复合地板是由几层木板组成的,稳定性更好。

混凝土地面上可以铺设实木复合地板吗?

可以。由于其结构原因,实木复合地板比实木地板的防潮性更好。

辐射供暖系统上可以铺设实木复合地板吗?

可以

实木复合地板铺设时需要留下伸缩缝吗?

需要。与实木地板相比,这种地板移动范围较小,但仍需要扩展空间。

 

护理、小贴士&维护

购买地板是一项长期的装修投资。随着时间的推移,适当的护理和清洁对地板的外观和性能具有较大影响。

更多
宝俪优走向绿色

可持续性、可再生能源、太阳能和水力发电是宝俪优众多鼓励绿色生活生产方法的一部分。

更多

宝俪优公司的愿景:客户满意、品质保证和可持续发展。 我公司不断完善生产工艺,以满足这些标准,为大家谋福利

更多

关注宝俪优亚洲新浪官方微博,参与,分享,讨论。

更多